The binding parliamentary consultations to pick a new premier-designate hel by Prwesident Michel Aoun at Baabda palace started as scheduled early Thursday at 10:00.

President Aoun started his consultations with the deputy House Speaker Elias Bou Saab who nominated Najib Mikati for premiership, attributing his choice to the critical conditions prevailing in the country.

The president also received the Loyalty to Resistance parliamentary bloc that nominated Mikati as well.

The bloc's chief, Hajj Mohammad Raad, maintained that Lebanon needs an effective government to face the ongoing crisis.

The Lebanese Forces MPs did not nominate anyone.

MP Jamil al-Sayyed, MP Fouad Makhzoumi, MP Abdel Rahman al-Bizri, MP Oussama Saad and MP Michel Daher also did not nominate anyone.

The Democratic Gathering, the North of Confrontation bloc and al-Kataeb nominated ex-President of the UN Security Council Nawaf Salam

Original Article Source: Al Manar | Published on Thursday, 23 June 2022 10:47 (about 12 days ago)